Back to the begining

If you had told me seven years ago that I would be returning to Peru, able to communicate in Spanish and using my degree to help a community, I’m not sure I would have believed you.

My love of Peru began in 2008 when I joined the British Exploring Society on a scientific expedition up the Amazon basin. Five weeks on a boat with 20 other strangers, studying the flora and fauna in the most diverse ecosystem in the world, was a big eye-opener for a naive 16 year old. The love of exploration and travel this inspired in me sent me to South Africa, Uganda, Hong Kong and Vietnam, and now I am returning to the country where it all began, to attempt to give something back.

Working in Hong Kong for three months was a good challenge; I didn’t speak the local language (although my colleagues spoke English), I was working for two very competitive engineering firms (out of my depth most of the time), and I was a long way from home in a very obstructive time zone. In spite of all these potential stumbling blocks I truly enjoyed my time there, and have now found a new challenge.

Peru is a developing country that is making good progress in industry, human rights and living standards. I hope to aid the development of the community in Lobitos by designing appropriate toilets. I hope to gain an understanding of the culture and needs of Lobitos and help to develop a suitable design for sanitation solutions.This design needs to be suitable for many cultures and use as little water as possible, such that the community can stimulate their local economy using sustainable tourism.

So, I leave in exactly 7.5 days.

I have been reading up on dry sanitation solutions, I have purchased anti-diarrhoea pills, and begun laying out my kit over and over again on my bedroom floor.

Reading up on sanitation design

Reading up on sanitation design

I am terrified – of messing up, of missing home, of not being able to communicate; but as the same time I am so excited. I chose engineering because I wanted to make a difference with my hands and my head (not my wallet – as many engineers will tell you… engineering would be a bad choice for that), and this is a great opportunity to do that.

I want to say thank you to everyone who has supported me – in my education, financially and emotionally.

EWB-UK thank you for believing I am the right person for this job. Thank you to the Okehampton Rotary, The Exonians, The Alchemy Foundation, the Grenville family, my sister, Emmie, Mum and Dad for sponsoring me. Thank you also to Stevie for all his care and support.

I still feel naive, out of my depth and foolish, but all we can do is keep learning and moving forward.

I will keep posting about how I am getting on, so if you are interested, watch this space…

Peru, the first time around

Peru, the first time around

Leave a comment