Hiking in Hong Kong

Top Hikes:

  • Dragons Back Ridge (nice easy one)
  • The Twins (much harder)
  • Sunshine Peak and Lantau Peak (hardest, See Lantau blog post for more)

So my parents decided to capitalist on my accommodation in Hong Kong (which is normally very dear) and came to visit for 10 days. I worked 7-7 so they went off and enjoyed themselves while I slaved away, and I met them for food in the evenings. I gave them a list of things I had done and highly recommend (see things to do in Hong Kong post) However our weekend together was brilliant.

My family and I love hiking, so I thought I would use our free time to revisit one of my favorites routes: Dragons Back. This is a really easy walk starting from Chai Wan (at the end of the Island Line MTR) and ending in Shek O. We started fairly late, around 11 and ambled up through the cemetery, past the war memorial and along the ridge. The view is brilliant if you have good weather, but the heat is intense, so definitely take a hat and plenty of water.

Dragon's Back again, well... it is my favorite walk

Dragon’s Back again, well… it is my favorite walk

At Shek O there is a beautiful beach to lie down for a rest of go for a swim (although the water in Hong Kong is not very clean, it is alright for a dip). There is also a fantastic Thai food place on the roundabout.

The Twins: I had not done this route before, so I wasn’t entirely aware of how tough it would be. Admittedly I think it was a little harsh of me to get my parents to walk this, especially as I had acclimatised, and they had not. Never the less, we got round in one piece and it was worth it.

We walked straight out of my accommodation (in Quarry Bay) and up the mountain to Mount Buttler. For here you pick your way down the other side to Park View where there are two garish pink tower blocks, you cannot miss it. This is also a good place to stop and catch a bus if you have had enough. From there you head up again over Violet Hill. All the trails around Hong Kong are fairly well marked, and this one is very easy to navigate. Once over Violet hill you head back down a little before you start the hideous ascent of the twins.

IMGP1918

IMGP1913

IMGP1942 IMGP1919

A little more shady

A little more shady

It's a long way up

It’s a long way up

Ok, i near killed Dad, sorry

Ok, I near killed Dad, sorry

Almost there

Almost there

This is the last big push, but an uncountable number of steps, to the very top. I may have nearly killed my father up these, so take it slow and drink plenty. This section is fairly shaded, making it a little easier. Once at the top you get spectacular views and a lovely decent to Stanley.

Stanley is my favorite place in Hong Kong. It is a lovely sea side town with a bustling market and great food. We stopped here for dinner and a rest, then caught the bus home. All in all a fantastic day.

IMGP1981  IMGP1992

Enjoying a hard earned drink after the Twins

Enjoying a hard earned drink after the Twins

IMGP1982

Leave a comment